Our Feedbacks

100% of positive feedbacks 511 total feedbacks

Item As Described


Shipping Time

Shipping Charges

New products


Know the Diamonds

Published : 02/20/2015 11:34:28
Categories : Diamonds

Their formation dates back to about three billion years ago.

The diamonds are composed of carbon atoms. Those perfectly pure seem colorless.

Diamonds can however take various colors (fancy color), although colored ones are very rare and are of interest almost exclusively to collectors.
The coloration is caused by both defects of atomic structure that atoms of different substances that are to replace those of carbon.

When we think of "Diamond", we refer to a gem perfectly pure and therefore practically colorless.
Commercially, however, are also taken into consideration diamonds whose color tends to veer towards a modest yellow coloration.

The Four "C" 

Are the four different characteristics that determine the rarity and value of a diamond. We learn to know them .... and we will learn to love him.

The diamonds are valuable because they are rare and perhaps we do not realize what they are rare. Do you think that the earth has been extracted to date only a few tons of diamonds.

Only a diamond can scratch another diamond. But some diamonds are rarer than others and it is the best combination of "4C" to determine the most valuable.

The characteristics that determine the value of a diamond: the 4 C


0.05 0.10 0.15 0.20 0.25 0.5 0.75 1.00 1.50 1.75 2.00 2.50 3.00 4.00 5.00 7.00
0.05 Carat 0.10 Carat 0.15 Carat 0.20 Carat 0.25Carat 0.50 Carat 0.75 Carat 1 Carat 1.50 Carat 1.75 Carat 2.00 Carat 2.50 Carat 3.00 Carat 4.00 Carat 5.00 Carat 7.00 Carat
groen Colour

The color classification is performed by comparing with suitable diamond, denominated "touchstones" (master stones) and observed under standardized artificial light, equivalent to sunlight color temperature as close as possible to 5500-6500K.
The color chart below is only meant to be indicative of the differences in the shades.

groen Clarity

The analysis is performed by a qualified person, in normal lighting conditions and with the aid of a 10 times magnifying glass.

A diamond called "pure" (internally flawless) is free of blemishes or inclusions or other traces characteristics accretion gem. The characteristics that determine the degree of purity are therefore the size, position, brightness and the number of inclusions.
External characteristics and structure phenomena can instead be referred to as "identification marks" or "comments".
The purity level of the lowest of the scale (indicated by p for "piqué") refers to inclusions visible to the naked eye always by a qualified person.
These inclusions are visible but also by a less experienced eye

pu1 VVS1 VVS2 VS1 VS2
SI1 SI2 P1 P2 P3
SI1 SI2 pu8 pu9 pu10
groen Cut

Some of the most common cuts of diamonds.

Round brilliant cut is cutting more used as gem gives the most brilliance. The brilliant is cut into 57 facets..
Oval cut: the technical name is "modified brilliant oval" and consists of a modification of the traditional round brilliant cut.
The brilliant oval consist usually 56 facets.
Navette cut or marquise: identical to the brilliant cut as regards the number of facets but more difficult to achieve.
His name is linked to a legend that tells of the Sun King and his desire to possess a polished stone in the form of the mouth of the Marquise de Pompadour.
The stone is characterized by a very bright central area and a reduction of the glitter towards the tips.
Drop cut: cutting drip ranks second for marketability after the round brilliant cut. The round part shines more, while the reflection of light on the tip is reduced, because of the lower angle of the facet below.
Cut to the heart: the technical name is "modified brilliant heart-shaped" and consists of a further modification of the round brilliant cut.
The brilliant cut heart normally consist of 59 facets.
Cut Princess (Princess): has a higher gloss to the round brilliant cut is a cut and shaped like brilliant style with sharp edges.
It usually has 76 facets.

Octagonal emerald cut: cutting habitual in the emerald, is scaled with more successions of facets, normally from 48 to 50, normally arranged on four sides.

Share this content